Congratulations on your upcoming marriage! As per the City of Williamsburg and James City County Circuit Court, marriage licenses are issued by the Clerk of the Circuit Court.
Couples are responsible for making all necessary arrangements for the wedding including contacting the marriage commissioner directly and arranging for the facility. Be sure to make arrangements early to assure availability of the commissioner and/or facility. A list of Marriage Commissioners can be found here.
Fees & Identification Requirements
The Marriage License fee is $30 cash, check or credit card. Please arrive by 4 p.m. to complete the marriage license processing. Both parties must appear before the Clerk to obtain a license and must be 18 years of age or older (proof of age required with either a valid driver's license with picture, passport or military identification). The court will provide a special affidavit for the parents' signature. If one parent has legal custody, we will need a certified copy of the court order and a certified copy of the applicant’s birth certificate that includes both parents’ names.
There are no residency requirements to obtain a marriage license in Virginia. A couple may go to any Circuit Court in Virginia to obtain this license. Once the license is issued, there is no waiting period and no blood test is required. The marriage license is valid for 60 calendar days and the marriage must take place in Virginia.
A maximum fee of $50 may be charged in accordance to law by the marriage commissioner for each ceremony. Travel expenses may be an additional cost.
Marriages are not performed by the Clerk's Office; however, a list of local civil marriage commissioners is available here. Out-of-state ministers must be authorized by the Circuit Court to perform marriage ceremonies in Virginia. To obtain a certified copy of a marriage license, the license must have been issued by the Williamsburg-James City County Circuit Court. More information regarding certified copies of a marriage license can be found here.